Writing 101- Day Two – A Room with a View

cropped-seal_v2-03

I felt my heart skip with joy. All I could think of was, ” I AM ALIVE”. I thanked God with all my heart and thanked all the stars for bringing me here.

I had no words to express the feeling and the beauty that engulfed me. I struck a deal with the Mountains that I will be back.

Well the mountains that I am talking about are no ordinary ones, it is THE HIMALAYAS!

It was the 5th day of the Goecha La trek, GOECHA LA or GOECHA PASS is a Himalayan mountain pass in the state of Sikkim. At an elevation of 16,200 ft, Goecha La serves as the gateway to Kanchenjunga, the third highest mountain in the world.  I was fortunate enough to join a group of fellow trekkers on this amazing journey. The day before we had stayed at Dzongri Trekkers Hut, we were at 12980ft. And it was freezing in the night. We embarked on the trail from Dzongri to Thansing, the next base camp at a height of 12894ft.

Just as I started on the trail from the Trekkers hut, I was welcomed with lush green meadows. After walking on the mountain for about 10-15 mins, the view I came by just mesmerized me. Well I could see snow clad mountains which were playing hide and seek with the clouds, a few horses grazing on the meadow and rolling hills all over. This was the place where my heart was racing and my soul was rejoicing the blissful view.  The weather was a bit sunny and the clouds were covering the mountains. The air was still and a cold but the view as I said was breath-taking.

Dzongri Meadows, Mt Pandim can be seen amongst the clouds
Dzongri Meadows, Mt Pandim can be seen amongst the clouds

 

Further down the meadows, I came across the Prek Chu river which was flowing with all its might, this place is Kokchurang , a base camp before Thansing. The place is filled with rocks and of course the river. And it is surrounded by mountains. As it was covered by the clouds, I could not get a complete view while going. But on the way back, the weather was all good and sunny. And I could see the river, the mountains, the trees, the azure sky, it was just phenomenal and I promised myself that I am going to be back in the years to come. And the feeling of being one with yourself and with nature, surpasses all the pain, weariness of the journey and it is a surreal feeling which is hard to explain.

Kokchurang and Prek Chu river
Kokchurang and Prek Chu river
Kokchurang
Kokchurang

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well I just hope I get transported to this place again soon. I would love to get teleported right now!

But nevertheless these places and their beauty is sure to stay in my mind and heart forever.

 

7 thoughts on “Writing 101- Day Two – A Room with a View

Say what you feel like saying.....

