A Stranger’s Concern

I had been wanting to write about this incident since a long time…. Well here it is finally!

It so happened that a stranger asked my mom- “How is your daughter? Is everything all right? I have not seen her since a couple of months.”

My mom was bewildered and said, “Well, she is fine! Why do you ask?”

I used to see her everyday on her way to work probably. But I have not seen her since the past couple of months. So, I wanted to check if she was alright.

My mom narrated this incident to me. I had no clue about this stranger. But , mom had happened to see this man during the morning walks near our place.

But after a few months, when mom and me were shopping for fruits, this man pops up.

He was probably in his seventies, bald, stout yet healthy. He looked stern but he had a very friendly smile.

“Here you are! I was asking your mother as to how you were doing?”

I was lost and was scratching my head to figure out if this was some relative of mine whom I don’t remember!

My mother looks at me and says, “This is the person who was asking about you.”

“Ohh. Hello Uncle!” I mutter.

“How are you?”

“I am fine. All good. ” I say.

“I used to see you on your way to work in the early morning. Don’t you remember me? I live at the house right opposite the road, a couple of roads away from your place.”

“Hmm!” I shake my head indicating that I don’t have a clue.

We just smiled at each other. I didn’t know what to say to him. But I was touched.

Isn’t it such a lovely feeling, when you are a part of a stranger’s life unknowingly?  To top it all, they care for you when they need not have to!

How amazing! How beautiful! Wow, isn’t this is the purest form of humanity?

f9101973fc90ff3ba10f80e09e9543c2

 

 

 

Say what you feel like saying.....

