Yes I flew!

As I was at the edge of the door of a plane, my heart missed a beat. Before I could actually step back and muster my courage, I was moved ahead into space. Gravity, Sky, Earth and the little me rushed. I took of a few seconds to figure out the space around. And then it was pure free fall. I could not hear the tandem instructor but he had given me the necessary instructions a few minutes back.

shwetha-c-k-027
I jumped off that plane. PC: startskydiving.com

“You may find it scary but give into the adventure, I will take care of you!” Dan said this as he tapped my shoulders just before we made the jump.

The free fall was crazy, scary but it was awesome. The adrenaline rush, the speed, the view around was just brilliant. I gave into the adventure. It was mad rush to the ground from 12000 feet.

shwetha-c-k-037
I am flying! PC: startskydiving.com

“So how many times have you skydived, Dan?

“This is my second.”

I stared at him.

“Well second for the day,” he giggled. “How many times would make you feel better?”

“I mean from when did you start skydiving?”

“Oh well, I have skydived like 9000 times.”

“Wow!” I was amazed. “I am sure you won’t be bored at your job?”

“Never! And we keep travelling all over the world to demonstrate skydiving. So I enjoy it a lot.”

Coming to the free fall, I was enjoying the moment, posing for the photographer ahead 😉

It was overwhelming and splendid.

Just as we reached 5000 feet, Dan signalled and opened the parachute. And we floated up a bit. I was relieved that it opened.

After that we glided around and the moment was perfect. Dan handed over the controls to me and I swayed a bit. There was utter silence, I could see the horizon, the trees, land below and a couple of lakes. The sky was azure blue and the sun shining brightly at us.

shwetha-c-k-124
Here we come. PC: startskydiving.com

Dan took over the controls and spinned around. And then he glided towards the landing area.

Well it was a perfect landing. I was super elated and excited about the entire experience. Thanked Dan and team for the wonderful experience.

I have always envied the birds for they can fly anywhere they want with no passport, no visas and no hassles of travel. Well, they can experience the freedom and cherish the flight whenever they want. They always get to enjoy nature; the rivers, the oceans, the mountains, the sky, the sunrises, sunsets and many things more.

Well I SKYDIVED and got to fly at least for a few seconds. I am glad I survived it too 😉

You can check out my video at : My skydiving video

 

 

4 thoughts on “Yes I flew!

Say what you feel like saying.....

