Well, the joy of being a part-time yogi!

I remember three years back, my first tryst with Yoga turned out to be a sour puss. I used to go to a certified Yoga practitioner in the vicinity. The classes were held in the evenings and I drudged my body twice a week to all the weird poses and stretches. My body ached and mind did wallow in the stillness for at least a while. But, it seemed a boring affair after a month that I quite stopped going all of a sudden. With all due respect to the teacher, I felt Yoga was not for me.

Yoga, PC: Instagram
PC: Instagram

About six months back, I apprehensively went through a course which indulged in Yoga and Meditation too. Quite surprisingly, I took to it like a duck takes to water. Well, maybe I needed to be ready to take on a Guru who would light the path; the path of realization! This happened well in time or should I say at the opportune time for things were clearer from then on.

I write about this not because I want to propagate Yoga or want everyone to take on Yoga, I am sure you are wise enough to decide for yourself!

Adiyogi
My recent visit to Adiyogi, ISHA Yoga Center, Coimbatore, India

I want to put forth a few simple things or thoughts that have changed me for the better over these few months of practising Yoga.

  1. I have felt an amazing sense of freedom irrespective of what my situation is.
  2. Life is beautiful and miraculous; you would agree with me if you have touched upon the inner journey.
  3. We are all travellers on this Earth. Birth and Death are mere pit-stops.
  4. We have come here alone and going out alone; prestige, wealth, fame, societal norms won’t travel with you- they are not important.
  5. All the treasures and answers are within you. Mind and Body are merely there to assist us in the simple transactions of life.
  6. The purpose of life on this Earth- Know Thyself, while you are at it- enjoy what this world offers.
  7. Compassion and humility are the keys for a better life.
  8. An action arising from the very sinews of the Infinite makes way for a more truthful and healthy life.
  9. Being ever engrossed in Sadhana be it the work you do or simple acts of service or just being meditative( your practises, your work, your hobby) gets you on the path of the divine.
  10. Most importantly, live in the moment for this is the now!

I have just mentioned a few thoughts that have ran across my mind now. But there are more subtle and amazing things which I have not expressed as I want and hope this journey for you is as intriguing and mind boggling as it has been for me.

Well bottom line, Yoga has changed me in and out. My whole perception has changed and it has been a significant revelation and it makes me want to enjoy this life to the fullest!

Phew, this International Yoga Day I am talking about the beauty of Yoga and the miracles of life that it augments; I quite cannot believe this 🙂 Well let’s call it a miracle too!

 

Rumiquotessoul

 

Do you practise Yoga? How has been your journey? Enlighten me…..

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Well, the joy of being a part-time yogi!

  1. Sana

    I agree with you completely. Yoga is an extremely powerful tool which can help you in your full blossoming.

    To answer your Q, Yes I practise yoga (the quirky moves and beyond) and I have just begun to realise everything around is WOW.

    Thanks for the post man. Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

Say what you feel like saying.....

